Thanks(4)giving

It's all about the little things…

Daily Archives: December 16, 2010

Week 3-Stuff, Day 2-My computer

Poor Nicole

This may seem a bit obvious to point out but, this blog would not be possible without the help of a computer and the great world wide web.  Both of which I am big fans of but I especially love my computer.  There isn’t a time in my life that I can remember not having a computer actually.  It may have been a family computer but there was always one there for me to type my reports on, put my research data in an excel file, or more importantly play Oregon Trail until I died of dysentery.

The point is that computers are not only fun but very beneficial, and in some cases essential, to everyday life.  I mean come on, can you imagine stepping away from your computer for a whole 24 hours?  I think many of us would suffer severe withdraw symptoms within the first hour.  In reality there are millions of people who do not own a computer.  Computer Aid International is a UK based charity that works with non-profit organizations in developing countries to provide them with refurbished PCs.  Over 178,500 computers have been provided to those in need since CAI began in 1998.  Just this year CAI also launched their very first solar powered internet cafes in Kenya and Zambia.  Computer for Youth helps “bring learning home” for low income families with children in grades 6-12 by giving them a home computer, training on how to use it, and math, science, English, and social studies education software.  CFY has grown from serving 230 families in the Bronx in 1999 to serving more than 20,000 families in five cities.  I love the idea of connecting parents and their children with technology.  Instead of a mom yelling at her kid to get off the computer and do their homework, they can work on it together on the computer!  Genius!

Computer Aid International Donation (FYI: You donate in £’s to $’s cause it’s UK based)

Computers for Youth Donation

So here’s to you my Inspiron 1525 Dell laptop computer!  You have helped me apply for jobs, play solitaire, and begin this year long adventure of being more thankful.  It doesn’t matter if you’re a Mac or a PC, everyone can help give someone in need the world at their fingertips.